County Championship to return to two divisions from 2022


Nottinghamshire in Division Two as 2019 promotions for Lancashire, Gloucestershire and Northamptonshire confirmed

The LV= Insurance County Championship will return to a two-division structure from next season, reverting back to the split that was due to come in before the disruption caused by the Covid-19 pandemic.

The decision, voted for by the first-class counties after discussions with the ECB, means that Nottinghamshire will go into Division Two next year – despite finishing third overall in 2021 and missing out on the title by a handful of points – and the 2019 promotions of Lancashire, Gloucestershire and Northamptonshire will stand.

There will be ten teams in Division One and eight in Division Two, a decision that was agreed in 2018, with each county playing 14 games. A seeding system is to be implemented in Division One, where the two additional teams will make for an asymmetric fixture list.
One proposal that was put to the counties was for the conference system to remain for another year – however, a vote on the matter last month was pushed back, with the expectation that it would not achieve the 12 votes required to pass.

Click here for More Cricket News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest