WhatsApp will turn off messages for users who do not accept the new terms of service

0
(0)


WhatsApp logo. Image: File

WhatsApp will turn off message options for users who do not agree to the updated terms and services by May 15, according to TechCrunch.

The site said that users who do not accept the updated terms and services of the instant messaging app by May 15 will not be able to send or receive messages.

The site said accounts that have been deactivated for 120 days can be deleted.

According to the technology’s website, the app will continue to allow the user – who has not yet accepted the new terms of service – to take advantage of calling and notification functions for a short period of time after the deadline expires, which is likely “a few weeks”.

WhatsApp caused a sensation when it announced its new updates in January, according to which user data can be shared with Facebook. Thousands around the world have turned to other alternative mobile apps like Telegram and Signal.

However, WhatsApp later clarified that it cannot read or listen to the user’s chat and that the update was intended to enable payments to other companies.

Does WhatsApp share any information with Facebook?

WhatsApp is already known to share some data with Facebook – which currently owns the mobile app – such as users’ IP addresses and purchases made through the platform.

However, these privacy laws differ from country to country. For example, the same laws do not apply in Europe or the United Kingdom.

What does the new WhatsApp privacy policy update mean for users?

Earlier, Geo Pakistan reached out to digital rights expert Osama Khalaji to explain the impact of the new WhatsApp terms and conditions.

Khaleji, who is also a director at the digital rights organization Bolo Bhi, said one-on-one conversations between users “will remain encrypted.”

However, he made it clear that WhatsApp would now provide “some information” to its parent company, Facebook.

Khaleji said that WhatsApp will now be able to share user status, mobile used, Internet, phone number, and IP address the account is using.

“They will use this information to target you with Facebook ads,” said Bolo Bhi’s manager.

How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 0 / 5. Vote count: 0

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

As you found this post useful...

Follow us on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Please follow and like us:

Pin It on Pinterest

Translate »